Board of Trustees

Guilford College’s Board of Trustees is a governing body exercising ultimate institutional authority as set out in the Bylaws of Guilford College. This authority, upon the recommendation of the president of the College, includes: determining and periodically reviewing the College’s mission; monitoring the College’s financial condition and approving the annual budget, tuition and fees; approving institutional policies bearing on faculty appointment, promotion, tenure and dismissal; reviewing and approving proposed substantive changes in degree programs; approving degrees as recommended by the faculty; and authorizing the construction of new buildings, the major renovation of existing buildings, and the purchase or sale of land. The board’s authority and responsibilities also include participating actively in strategies to secure sources of support, contributing to fundraising goals, appointing the president and annually assessing the president’s performance.

Officers of the Board:

Edward C. Winslow III, Chair
Partner, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard LLP
Greensboro, NC

Brooks Terrell Raiford, Vice Chair 
Chief Executive Officer and President, The North Carolina Technology Association, Inc.
Cary, NC

Ione L. Taylor ‘76, Vice Chair
Executive Director, Earth and Energy Resources Leadership, Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario

Frederick H. Taylor, Jr. ‘77, Treasurer
Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, MJX Asset Management LLC
New York, NY

Daniel D. Mosca, Secretary
Browns Summit, NC

Members of the Board:

Gilbert D. Bailey ’91
Senior Vice President, Global Head Analytics & Customer Engagement Solutions
Charlotte, NC

Carla Brenner ’73
Retired Contract Writer, National Gallery of Art
Washington, D.C.

D. Victor Cochran III ’71
President, Sharp-Carter Corporation
Greensboro, NC

Shannon Craigo-Snell ‘92
Professor of Theology and Associate Academic Dean, Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary
Louisville, KY

Gus Davis ’72
Senior Vice President Supply Chain Operations, The Pause Group, Inc.
New York, NY

Teresa L. Graedon
Medical Anthropologist
Durham, NC

Harrison Hickman '75
CEO and Founder, Hickman Analytics, Inc.
Washington, D.C.

David Hopkins ‘91,
CEO, Urban League of Greater Hartford
Hartford, CT

Kyle Kiser ‘06
President and Chief Strategy Officer, RxRevu
Seattle, WA

Brain Lowit ‘98
Label Manager, Dischord Records and Owner, Mount Desert Island Ice Cream
Washington, D.C.

Charlotte M. Roberts
President, Blue Fire Partners Inc.
Sherrills Ford, NC

Elizabeth Weddington Voltz '91
Founder and Partner, Weatherspoon & Voltz, LLP
Raleigh, NC

Judith Welch Wegner
Burton Craige Professor of Law Emerita and Dean Emerita, University of North Carolina School of Law
Nantucket, MA

Suzanne Whitmeyer
Broker, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services York, Simpson, and Underwood Realty
Raleigh, NC

Johnny Wood ‘74
artner, Aprio
Greensboro, NC

Trustees Emeriti

Walter P. Blass; President
Strategic Plans Unlimited
Warren, N.J.

Joseph M. Bryan Jr. ’60, Board Chair Emeritus
CEO, Jayembe
Greensboro, N.C.

Kathleen M. Coe
Retired Clergy, Jamestown Friends Meeting
Greensboro, N.C.

David A. Edgerton ’62
Retired Vice President/CEO, Glen Raven Inc.
Fort Myers, Fla.

Victor I. Flow Jr.
President, Flow Lexus
Winston-Salem, N.C.

Marietta M. Forlaw
Retired Community Leader
Greensboro, N.C.

James T. Forsythe
Retired Vice President, Ansythe Exploration Company Inc.
Brenham, Texas

W. Groome Fulton Jr. ’60
Retired CEO, Fulton Enterprises Inc.
High Point, N.C.

H. Curt Hege Sr. ’56
President, Shields Inc.
Winston-Salem, N.C.

Howard T. Hinshaw ’60
Retired Physician
Charlotte, N.C.

Bruce B. Stewart ’61
Headmaster Emeritus, Sidwell Friends Schools
Washington, D.C.

Eldora H. Terrell ’49
Retired Physician/Internal Medicine
High Point, N.C.

Board Councils and Committees

  • Executive Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Academic Environment Council
  • Financial Resources Council
  • Reputation Council
  • Trusteeship and Governance Committee